Saturday, December 24, 2016

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Friday, December 2, 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Friday, November 18, 2016

Programming is doing binary searches.

Computers are literally impossible.

Friday, October 21, 2016

Augury is simple.

Just watch the children.

Friday, October 7, 2016

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Registering online is usually a two step process.

Step 1: register. Step 2: add a new junk mail filter.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Sunday, September 4, 2016

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Thank you, plants.

Honestly, I ate a mango.  However I would like to take a moment to thank the tree that produced it for going to the trouble to collect all that solar energy, and synthesize (but not use) all those sugars and vitamins just for me, an animal.

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Tuesday, August 9, 2016

society

society is a society

Monday, August 1, 2016

the world, 2016


(click to enlarge)

Monday, July 25, 2016

God assigns the greatest souls to the most difficult lives.

- the buddha

Features considered harmful

A feature is nothing but an attack surface for bullshit.  Keep features to a minimum.

Making websites is like writing drivers for buggy hardware.

"Use flexbox." - anonymous

Friday, July 22, 2016

stand back


we smell

Image source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/article-2189355/Panda-holidays-tours-A-pilgrimage-meet-Chinas-star-bear.html

Meaning of Life

Select for the meaning of life: To die gracefully.

Hint: "All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us" - Gandalf

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

It speaks english.

shh, you can hear if you squint

Continuum hypothesis is clearly false.

Select to see the answer: The computable numbers.

Hint: According to Wikipedia this set is countable.  This is false.  In fact, given any enumeration, you can easily find one not in the enumeration.

EDIT: Never mind, I had found that this set wasn't effectively enumerable, and mistook that for uncountability.

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Friday, July 15, 2016

Friday, July 8, 2016

Data Streams

Read this blog post here!

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Timmy Wallace

TV

Want, said Timmy, pointing at an ad of kids playing with a toy.

Play with your other toys, said his parents.

When is my next birthday, said Timmy.

In eight months, groaned his parents.

The ad went away.


School

He's a sweet child, but his grades are very poor, concerned Mrs. Rosemary.  Do you know why that might be?

Why, we have no idea, Mr. and Mrs. Wallace replied.

He hasn't made many friends, continued Mrs. Rosemary.  He doesn't keep eye contact.

We will take him to the doctor, Mr. and Mrs. Wallace conceded.

Please do, Mrs. Rosemary sighed.


The Psychiatrist

He has an ungulism, affirmed Dr. Linda.  This is why he cannot be normal.

We will begin therapy at once, nodded Mr. and Mrs. Wallace.

Structure his day around activities that exercise his skills.  It has been found that rewards can evoke behaviors from ungulistic children.

We will structure his day at once, nodded Mr. and Mrs. Wallace.

Dr. Linda grinned.


School Again

I'm worried about Timmy, snorted Mr. Frankfurt.  He had by far the most difficulty this quarter on the group project.

He has an ungulism, stated Mr. and Mrs. Wallace.  We show him flashcards to teach him skills, and we give him rewards when he acts appropriately.

Very good, Mr. Frankfurt gave a smile.  How often, outside of school, does he play with other children?

He has an ungulism.

I know, Mr. Frankfurt sighed.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

A Tale of Two Axioms

Read this blog post here!